<< Return to committee list

Diversity Equity & Inclusion Committee

AOSW Diversity Equity & Inclusion Statement:
AOSW is committed to building a community that reflects all people affected by cancer and where every member, regardless of their age, race, national origin, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, ability, religion, etc., feels valued and welcome among all levels of the organization.      
Embracing diversity and inclusion is a top priority of AOSW, which empowers social workers to demonstrate integrity, compassion and leadership in the practice of oncology. 

Diversity & Inclusion Statement

DEI Committee Statement on Race

AOSW Diversity Equity & Inclusion Goals:
AOSW believes in transparency and is thoughtfully working to advance its diversity and inclusion policy. As such it has introduced a multi-prong, longitudinal approach which seeks to advance diversity and inclusion at all levels of the organization and includes, but is not limited to the following:

  1. Establish a seat at the AOSW leadership table by creating a Diversity Equity & Inclusion Chair position within the Membership Committee to further advance the organization’s commitment to recruitment and retention of racially and ethnically diverse clinicians.  
  2. Identify and create engagement initiatives that help to improve discussion on an inclusive process to sustain recruitment & retention efforts.
  3. Encourage AOSW membership to volunteer in mentorship and local career-day programs to open up meaningful dialogues and promote oncology social work as a viable area of practice. 

Providing high quality, culturally competent cancer care requires a commitment to the exploration of societal factors that contribute to disparities in health care, as well as promotion of health equity and equality. Therefore, any lack of disparity among oncology social workers contributes to health care disparities. As such, AOSW remains focused on increasing recruitment and retention of racially and ethnically diverse members.  


Amy Burke - Member
Angela Clay - Member
Angela Katrichis - Member
Bill McDermott - Member
Bonnie Yoo - Member
Catherine Paykin - Member
Cheryl D. Whittington-Fogel - Member
Dawnica Mathis Huff - Member
Djuana Fomby - Member
Emma H. Shin - Member
Eucharia Borden - Member
Heather H. Goltz - Member
Homaira Sheikh - Member
Jennifer Bires - Member
Joel R. Siebentritt - Member
Kaelee Schirado - Member
Kendolyn F. Shankle - Member
Kristine Naputo - Member
Leora Lowenthal - Member
Michael D. Burson - Member
Rachel Allende - Member
Roshonda Poole - Member